The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Screen Printing

I’ve finally begun my screen printing adventures. I’ve been wanted to do screen printing for some time now. Ever since I made a T-Shirt in 7th grade technology class, I knew it was something I’ve wanted to do at least as a hobby. I always hated thinking up cool designs or sayings for shirts, but not being able to make them come to life. Now I can, ideally, make any kind of design that I want. Ideally, however, means that anything more than one color, would, indeed, be too advanced for the set up I’ve got.
The press I’ve got is just a single color press. I bought it for $81 on Ebay and it is the simplest unit you can get. The more advanced units require a lot more space, but can print up to 16 colors and also cost thousands of dollars.

The exposure unit I have is just a simple one that I made out of PVC pipe. Silkscreeningsupplies.com tries to rip you off and charge you upwards of $50 for a lesser design.


The first T-Shirt I made is a replica of the one I made in 7th grade. Now I’ve got to order a couple more screens, so that I can start making more designs.

I’ve invested $400 initially in this endeavor. In one sense, that is kind of crazy for something that may only be a hobby, but right now I’m giddy as hell with the ability to make my own t-shirts at will. Maybe I’ll start selling them on Ebay and make a few bucks off of them.

November 25, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Good luck Jake. It’s probably best to start off small/cheap and it’s an ideal “starter” press. Your home-made exposure unit looks impressive to me. You’re obviously very arty (what with your photography too)and talented.
    Would you say you were a perfectionist?
    I loved silk-screen printing at school, but it was done the old fashioned way lol.

    I hope you make some money out of it. Please post photos of future designs.

    Thanks for your comment.

    Regards,
    Col

    Comment by Col | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] unit I like using a spotlight and pvc pipe from lowes. You can see how someone else made one here https://thesoulborrower.wordpress.com/2008/11/25/screen-printing/ any good home exposure unit is going to have some foam to help the light stay out and hold it […]

    Pingback by The Dangers of Starting a home print shop | brantoe | May 30, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

