The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Gone, but not forgotten.

I’ve decided to post a few pictures of the things that I miss from being in Germany. I was there from July 07 to Jan 08. I really enjoyed it – in particular these things probably the most. I hated my family while I was there, but thats a different story – one that I don’t think anyone wants to hear.

I love to travel. I love different cultures and meeting new people and trying new things.

First things First: I loved the food. I absolutely LOVED it. In the big cities you could get anything from Chinese to Italian to American. Whatever you felt like eating at the time was readily available. I also loved German food. There were a few things that I just couldn’t stand, like Kloese for example (Spelling?). They are dumplings that one typically eats with a sauce. One thing I didn’t like was how Germans used so much sauce on everything. They cooked all their meat well done and then smothered it with sauce. I’m a bloody Nebraskan, such a thing here would be considered Cow-Blasphemy.

I also hated how often they ate just bread. Sometimes I would go days without a hot meal and that really pissed me off. Everyday I would take sandwiches to school, eat sandwiches for lunch, and often times, for dinner as well. I hated it. I loved the bread, but I hated how often we ate it. I love the Broetchen the best. Its amazing how differently the bread varies: So many variations in the West and South, to nothing but Mischbrot in the NorthEast.

Another of my favorites: Beer. I absolutely loved the beer over there. American beer can’t even come close to how good german beer is. My favorite beer (For the other Americans: There are over 2000 breweries in Germany, all of them different kinds of beer) had to have been Koelsch. This beer just so happens to be made in Cologne – my favourite city. Everyone there is always so nice and cheerful compared to Berlin. The thing with this beer though is that the Koelners say that its the only language good enough to drink: because Koelsch is the beer and the dilect that Germans speak.

This next picture deserves an honourable mention by itself. It isn’t German. Its turkish. Its called a Doener Kebap. This is one of the those foods that I have truly come to love. When I was over there I had at least two of these per week. The best part about it is: its cheap and good. Basically its just a corner of a large piece of flatbread. Inside the flatbread you can choose a sauce Chili Sosse (Hot Pepper Sauce), Knoblauch Sosse (Garlic Yoghurt Sauce), or Kraeuter Sosse (Herb Yoghurt Sauce). The only sauce I like is the Chili Sosse, which is extremely spicy and very good. Next, you get the Doener Fleisch (The Doener Meat), usually Lamb, but can sometimes be chicken. Then you get veggies on top. The veggies vary greatly from vendor to vendor, but I usually get a whole bunch of red cabbage and lots of onion. Lastly comes another glob of sauce.
Then you indulge in a great delicious mess. If you ever go to Europe, you have to try one of these.


Something that I miss that isn’t food is the Mass Transit Systems. I loved being able to hop on a train and be where you want to go in 10 minutes. In the big cities, there is a train going where you want to go at least every 10 minutes, if not more often. In the smaller cities, there is usually just a small bus system. The town I was in had a very efficient one. You could get anywhere you wanted to go with the bus. Unfortunately, the buses were more spread apart and you would have to wait up to an hour (for some places) for the bus. The best part, it was cheap. A month card only cost about 18 Euro. That means you could ride as much as you want for an entire month for only 18 Euro. Cheap I say. America needs such a thing.
The only grievances I have with the system is traveling long distances. Die Bahn (The german train system) seems to always have extreme prices no matter where you want to go. I traveled from Berlin to Cologne and back for about 80 Euro. That was with a 25% SparPreis (Discount). Usually you can’t find any good prices with Die Bahn unless they have a special. And those specials, unfortunately tend to run out very quickly. When i was there one of the specials happened to be from Cologne to London for 29Euro. That is a very good bargain. Unfortunately there were only a few seats at that price and they ran out quickly.

Last on my list is the shopping districts. It’s amazing how obsessed Germans are with shopping. I found that the teenagers there were just as materialistic as those here in the US. Often times they forked up the money to buy new clothes and be fashionable. That sucked in Germany. The way you looked really had an impression on people.
They wouldn’t however fork up the money to buy things like an Ipod, which is a smart move. There are so many other cheaper alternative Mp3 players. What I liked about these shopping districts was that you could find anything you wanted there, at full price of course. Everything from books to clothes to electronics and tourist items could be easily found in multiple shops. Here in Nebraska you have to order stuff from the net and pay shipping costs because we have nothing here.
I also liked the Weihnachtsmaerkte (Christmas markets). The mood was always very giddy and awesome. The only thing wrong was that everything was so expensive. I loved Gluehwein. (Spiced Wine). That was probably my most favourite alcoholic beverage. There was one more that I can’t recall: it was one that we had a christmas time, on christmas eve. First you start with several bottles of red wine in a large bowl, than you place a sugar cone over the top, light it on fire with the help of some rum and continue to douse the flames with alcohol until the sugar has entirely dissolved. Then you drink until it’s gone and then start another one.
I hope you Germans out there could help me with this one. If you give me the name of the drink (if there is one) than maybe I can find a ‘kit’ to make it here in the US.

Those are just a few pics. I didn’t take as many as I wanted to because my camera wasn’t very good.
January 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Your Drink:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feuerzangenbowle

    with greetings from Germany.

    Comment by Anonymous | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Cow-Blasphemy! Lol.
    Due to my very limited budget I often only eat “bready” things for days on end… it sucks, big-time!

    Rail fares in the UK are a joke too, London Transport has just increased some fares by 15%.

    I can see why, in your ‘about me’, you want to get back to Europe.

    Btw, If you want to share then I would like to hear about why you hated your family whilst you were in Germany.

    Great post!

    Take care,
    Col

    Comment by Col | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Anon- Thanks a bunch.

    Col, I might blog about it soon. I hope to keep blogging more and more. I actually want to travel to the UK this spring – most specifically London. I’m just waiting for the exchange rate to be a bit better and for me to start saving for it.

    Comment by Jake | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Nothing to thank me for, I’m all for promoting “Gemütlichkeit” (which seems to be a actual english word, as I discovered reading the wikipedia article a second time).
    And I, of course, would also like to hear about your bad experiences with us bread-eating germans ;).

    Comment by Anonymous | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Unfortunately, I doubt the exchange rate is going to improve before then. Well, not enough to make any difference at least.

    Good luck with the saving-up though!

    Comment by Col | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. i’ve been to the Weihnachtsmarkts (sp?) in berlin a few times, and i really like it. some of the food in the markets is really good, and the atmosphere is well cool.

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | January 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

