The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

FAIL

Yes, I play the lottery. Or at least I buy the tickets. There isn’t a whole lot more involvement..

Choose the Numbers

Pay the money

Check the Numbers

You Know how it goes.

Everytime I lose, (or everytime I don’t win, if you like), I feel sad. Am i being sarcastic? Somewhat, but not really. It only takes about 30 seconds to find out if you’ve lost, and yet each and everytime I find out that I never even got one number, I feel like I’ve been robbed of my 20 million dollars.

I would love to win 20 million dollars. I’d give most of it away.

The Nebraska Lottery offers two options no matter the size of the prize.

1. Large Cash lump sum, which consists of only the cash on hand for the prize. This is usually much less than the actual posted amount.

2. Annuity Payments – The winner receives one big payment and 29 smaller payments for 29 years.

I would definitley take the annuity payments. Thats a little less than $700,000. If you can’t live on 700,000 a year, than you have serious problems. You can buy a very nice house where I live for 200,000 and a damn nice car for 100,000. The only thing that would suck is going back to work after the 29 years in the case that you didn’t save anything.

You could donate 300,000 a year and still be very well off.

Just a thought.
January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. What a thought! 🙂

    Comment by Col | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. It’s funny how small a world it can be. Of torchy’s eleven followers it would figure that two of them would be from Nebraska.

    Comment by LeonC | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. sympathy from another loser. We both suffer post lottery depression. I have lost several hundreds of millions, in the past year. we get to play powerball here in NC.

    Comment by pathfinder1968 | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ah so, Leon C, you suffer from the horid state that is Nebraska? Are you lucky enough to be from the eastern part, or from some smaller town like myself?

    Comment by Jake | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  5. Jake

    i would take the lump sum cause after taxes your 20 would be about 14 M and at a conservative 5% return you would earn the same 700K a year but it could go on forever not just 29 years

    please talk to me before you make investment decisions 🙂

    take care and be safe

    bob

    Comment by cvn70 | February 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

