The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Doesn’t anyone read anymore?

Seriously. Do you?
There are very few people I know that actually like to read for fun. There are so many great books out there, people are just plain missing out. I like to read mostly fantasy books. I love the Harry Potter series and anything by Tolkien. I also like The Wheel of Time, a series that few people are familiar with – probably due to the fact that there are 11 books in the series. I’ve only made it through the first 3, and even that was a while ago.
I don’t care much for literature, although there are a few that I like. On occasion I read non-fiction books, but most of the time even those are memoirs or biography based.
I also like coming-of-age and gay novels and memoirs. Those would have to be my second and third favourite genres.
I just finished reading The Phantom of the Opera, and my next choice would have to be Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain – the star of the Travel Channels No Reservations – my favourite show.


I’ve seen both the movie and the musical for The Phantom of the Opera and I thought that they were the most amazing performance I had ever seen. The book is no exception. The story isn’t exactly the same, but it is really very close, and while reading, the entire time I could hear the music and lyrics playing in my head.

Pure Awesome.

No Reservations is my favourite show both because of the international food and travel aspect, but also because Anthony Bourdain is just my type of guy. He loses the formalities and is blunt as anyone I’ve fucking seen. I would love to meet this guy in person. I find it hard to believe that he is a chef, however. In some ways, he does seem like the chef type, but in other ways he just seems like a homey guy who enjoys a good meal.

So what are your favourite books? And what are you reading at the moment?

February 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. um. i do…

    i’m reading ‘the appeal’ by john grisham atm, altho i hardly have any time at all 4 reading right now and i haven’t picked it up in like 3 wks, so i’ll prolly have to start again.

    i’ve read all the harry potter bks at least twice apart from the last 1 and that’s just coz i haven’t got round to its 2nd read yet.

    i’ve just been recommended ‘revelation space’ by alastair reynolds, but i’m not sure when i’m gonna fit it in.

    haven’t read phantom, but i’ve seen it on stage and got the cd. awesome. luv 2 see it again. that and les mis (seen twice) are deffo my fave musicals.

    touch me, trust me, savour each sensation! – hehe 😉
    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m not reading anything at the moment. If you like fantasy stuff I recommend the following by Robin Hobb:
    The Farseer Trilogy
    The Liveship Traders Trilogy
    The Tawny Man Trilogy
    They all follow on from each other so it’s a lot of reading, but well worth it.

    Apart from all the Harry Potter books, which I’ve read about five times, the Dune series is my all-time favourite collection… it’s heavy going at the start but omg, they are brilliant!!

    Comment by Col | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. I read as well… currently I am reading Jimmy Carter’s new book “We can have peace in the Holy Land : a plan that will work” It just came out so I’m not very far at all… but I’ve enjoyed all I read by him previously.
    Take Care!
    Davey

    Comment by Davey | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Because I’m a college undergraduate, and a history major into the bargain, my reading-for-pleasure time is a bit restircted. I like nautical novel, and of course all the books of C. S. Forester, Alexander Kent, a.k.a. Douglas Reeman and those by Patrick O’Brian.

    Over my Christmas break when I was at home, my Mother recommended Susan Howatch’s Glittering Images which I really enjoyed reading. So much so that I recently finished a companion book Absolute Truths. I identified a little with the main character Charles Ashworth both as priest and as bishop through his reconciling the carnal and the spiritual side of his nature. The theology got a bit thick at times, but the books are very much worth reading.

    I have to be a little careful about leaving gay-themed books around the dorm room, but I’m also a fan of Alan Hollinghurst. Going back a little further, the books of Simon Raven, especially The Feathers of Death are great reads.

    Great to find this blog! Thanks Soul Borrower for the letter as well. you were of course correct in that the ideas for some of the Life’s Lessons on my own Blog came from the little instruction series of books.

    Josh

    Comment by Josh | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey, just found your blog thanks to Col. Looks interesting, I’ll start following you now. Come visit me too 🙂

    I love Phantom, when you finish that, check out Susan Kay “Phantom” – its a spin-off, but an excellent novel.

    Kitchen Confidential is absolutely true. I’ve worked in the food service industry for years – and all the stuff he mentions really does happen!!

    Personally, I feel I don’t often read enough “intelligent” books (literature, history, bios, etc) – but I read voraciously. Usually 2 or 3 books simultaneously, one at the dining room table, one in the bathroom, one by my bed. I have the ability to keep up with the plots, and switch between the books several times a day. Of course, I spend way way way too much time online so progress is slower than usual.

    But most of the books I read are cheap fiction/thrillers/adventure/adventure novels. Right now I’m reading a submarine warfare novel “Typhoon”, plus Stephen King’s “Needful Things”, plus just started some other fiction thriller “Into the Storm” i think its called.

    Some of us do still read for fun 🙂

    Comment by Seth | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  6. @ Torchy: I love the harry potter series. I think I’m going to start reading it again, just for fun.

    @Col: I’ll have to check some of them out, the only thing bad with fantasy is that it tends to get reptitive between authors and series.

    @Davey: I’m not religious and I’ve only read a few books even related to religion (one right know called Straight to God).

    @Josh: I know what you mean by college reading. I hate that the books are so freaking long. I also understand about leaving certain books around dorm rooms, I don’t like in the dorms but I used to be so concerned with hiding by books within my bookcase, now I don’t worry about it.

    @Seth: eh I hate intelligent books for the most part. Some books that people call masterpieces are, to me, complete rubbish. As far as ‘cheap’ books go: all mine are cheap – er. I don’t usual buy books from anywhere else in a bookstore than from the bargain rack. But than again, in america the bargain rack is usually bigger than some individual sections.

    If I want to order something specific, I order it from Amazon and usually its priced 3 or 4 dollars below retail.

    Comment by Jake | February 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

