The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Urgent

Is there anything to do in Texas? (cricket)

No seriously, is there?

I want to go down there for the weekend, to get away. I could possibly go somewhere else as well but there is a place in Texas that I want to go to.

Let me know if you live there and if there is actually something fun and entertaining.

February 13, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 4 Comments

A Shout-out.

I’ve searched on the web for a term other than shout-out. I think that it sounds good in Vlogs and what not, but it sounds like complete rubbish when typed out in actual words. Seriously, I mean, come on. It looks terrible

Shout-Out, shoutout, shout out… not the same.

It just doesn’t work.

I’ve only just remember this event, and am surprised how vivid it is.

Have you ever had someone do something for you when you were in need? Something that you couldn’t do yourself, or something that you couldn’t afford but really needed? Something that altered a course of events, or something that changed your life?

It’s happened to me several times. But the one that comes to mind, or rather came to mind just today was on January 10th, 2008 about 4 am in the morning. I had just gotten off the Night train going from Berlin to Frankfurt am Main. The trip was very long and lasted about 8 hours. The night train goes rather slow but is much more economical than its speed rail counterparts.

I was on the way back home to the US. I had decided just one week before that I no longer wanted to stay in Germany – but thats yet another story. I was tired, depressed, angry, sad, happy, indifferent, anxious and broke all at once. I got off the train at the only stop in Frankfurt which happened to be about 15 minutes away from the airport. It was 4 in the morning and the buses had just started running. I got off the train, dragged my 100lbs of luggage to the bus stop and got on, thinking that my train ticket had paid for the fare.

Apparently, it did not. I was broke. I didn’t have any money. I had emptied my bank account the week before on my vacation to Cologne, and I didn’t really expect to need any money.

So there I was, standing in the entrance of the bus looking at the guy with an inquisitve look as to why my train ticket, which said it would pay for the fare, in fact did not. It must have been no more than 15 seconds or so that we just stared at each other, at the time it seemed forever. I’m not sure what the expression was, but finally he just nodded toward the back, I got on, and rode for free.

I felt so relieved at that moment. Probably much more than I needed to be. I found out later that morning that my mom had put more money in my account, so I could have found an atm, paid the driver and been on my way. There was about 5 hours between the time I got off the train to when my plane departed. I was the first person in the terminal. The first person through check in. He saved me so much trouble and stress.

Shout-Out to the bus driver. For lack of better words.

Just thought I’d share that with you.

February 13, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments