The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Photo Class Feb 22nd

These were the photos that I chose to be critiqued today in Photography class. The assignment was Project 1, where we had to choose 3 to 5 photos where we demonstrated what we’ve learned in the first 6 weeks of class. They had to show basic composition, lighting, colour, white balance, and all the basic jazz that is beginning photography.

Let me know what you think…………….Please!? Thanks.


This is a photo of a bucking bronco outside the town college, its hard to make out, simply because the statue faces north and the sun never hits it properly.

Please, let me know what you think. Constructive criticism is awesome.

February 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. I love photo 3 and 4. I don’t know why I like them. Maybe it’s because of the sun. Maybe it’s the dark background. Or maybe it’s the flag (or the statue in no. 4) that gives it such a powerful look. Photo no. 1 comes very close, although it looks very blurry to me.

    I don’t really know what it is I’m looking at in no. 2 and 5. Is it something like a construction site?

    For a beginning photographer, you did a pretty amazing job I guess. Too bad I couldn’t click on them to zoom in though.

    Comment by Tee | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. I have to start by saying I know nothing about photography or composition. I point the camera and press the little button and hope the camera’s built-in intelligence is greater than mine.

    I think all of the pictures are good. My favorite would be the flag at sunset(?). While the pole itself is high, the tree to the left brings the eyes downward and balances the composition. The strands of cirrus clouds, and the diagonal way they cross the picture also visually lower the pole and make the whole thing work.

    I think my next favorite is the one taken from the floor of a porch(?). I think of them all, this has the best balance of composition of the various visual blocks. The lights are balanced too, which makes it a very pleasing image. For some reason the roughness of the boards on the floor helps tie the composition down too.

    The first picture of the sunrise(?) is good, but (now, this is only MY opinion, okay?) to me there’s a lot of field at the bottom that seems very dark. Would the picture work better if the horizon were lowered just a little bit?

    The last picture is almost abstract. I can’t tell what the objects are or where it’s taken, but I really like the composition. Is it from the seat of a bench? The space between the two boards leads the eye off into that dark void between the building and what looks like a fence. It’s very dramatic.

    For the bronco statue, maybe you could shoot it from different angles on an overcast day, where the lighting is less direct? Or experiment with lighting from below on an overcast evening? A bunch of guys with flashlights and a time exposure for the shooting?

    Comment by Josh | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. Great shots!

    Interesting that you seem to shoot mostly at sunset/evening – is that a choice, or just a time constraint? Also seems you like some silhouettes, which are always cool images.

    Night shots or even sunset images provide an extra layer of complexity to shooting, since you by default of the low lighting, lose a lot of the highlights and lowlights.

    Eventually if they get into flash work, you can experiment with some fill flash – the flag and especially the bronco statue would benefit from some fill.

    Don’t be afraid to go out of the 2/3rd rule with the horizon on the sunset shot. LoL just don’t make the horizon tilt funny. I like the image, but I would like to see more of the sky colors – and again, you lose detail in the foreground because of the low light. Also it looks like you focused on the background – you might try a similar shot bringing the tree into sharp focus, letting the background blur out a bit.

    I’m sorry, did I ask this on your blog already (or was I thinking of another blog) – are you shooting digital or film? Do you have a manual camera – in particulary a lens that you can manually focus? (for that sunset/tree shot, for example). I’m going to assume you do.

    Lastly, i’ll agree with one of the other commenters – nice perspective on the last shot – classic “drawing you eye into the center” – and the lights do balance it out across the top. The second shot doesn’t work quite as well for me – its just a lot of darkness on the bottom.

    Anyway – keep up the good work – shoot shoot shoot, and all that.

    🙂

    Comment by Seth | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Photo's 3 & 4 are my favourites, simply because I love sunrise/sunset shots and silhouettes too.

    I think I would've preferred photo 5 shot in bright daylight, but I do like the whole perspective/vanishing point thing (if that's what you call it! lol).

    Can you tell that I actually know nothing about photography? 🙂

    All in all… great work!!

    Comment by Col | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. Jake

    The first picture I like a lot and I am assuming it is a sunrise and unlike Josh I like that lack of color in the fore ground cause it shows the lack of light at sunrise.

    The flag at sunset reminds me of my military service and is a lovely picture but please tell the owners to take down and replace the flag as I notice it has a tear in it. Or maybe that little tear on the bottom red stripe is simply symbolic of how this countries treats us as not a whole part of this nation.

    The fourth picture I like a lot it looks as though the statute is a silhouette

    The remaining pictures I do not like the way the lights are distorting the night pictures they are too bright but overall the pictures are nice and I hope the assignment is graded well for you

    Take care and be safe

    bob

    Comment by cvn70 | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thanks everyone for the comments.

    @Tee Its actually the train depot in my town, the board walk and than from a bench.

    @Josh It was the sunrise. I like the balance the most in the flag picture. The clouds and skyline compensated for the balance between ground and sky.

    In the Field/sunrise picture, I liked showing the field simply because this is the type of place I live in. Corn and bean fields all around. My goal was to capture more than just the sunset.

    @Seth I was kind of time constrained: for example, the three sunrise photos were taken all at the same time. We were only allowed to submit 3 to 5 photos and I just thought that these 5 were the best.

    I don’t really get flash. Right now our teacher is talking about how little flash helps, yet everyone experienced photographer I see uses one…

    I don’t know if we will get into fill flash in this course or not, probably not, simply becuase its a class for all digital cameras, and most of the people have point and shoot cameras.

    @Col I really do like sunrises and sunsets. You don’t really have to know anything about photography. If you tell me that you like them or don’t is what I’m also looking for 🙂

    @Bob I never even noticed the tear in the flag, I thought it was the angle that the flag was blowing. I will mention it, as I too think it is important, but chances are it will be awhile. I go to a community college and funds are very limited and usually go to facility improvements first and foremost.

    Comment by Jake | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. oh jeez jake, i really want to critique your photos, but i’m just totally out of time tonite, and i haven’t even posted myself.

    here’s a couple of site recommendations tho:

    http://photo.net – very useful forums and and amazing photos. i concentrate on the forums mostly
    http://luminous-landscape.com/ – excellent articles, tutorials and reviews.

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | February 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

