The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Satisfaction

Alright, there were actually a couple of things that I wanted to blog about tonight, but as luck would once again have it, I can not remember all of them. I only remember one thing, simply because that thing happened tonight.

So I was at my job at the hotel serving dinner for a group of about 200 people. The day had been going great, the group was a very nice and kind bunch, there had been no problems and everyone was generally pleased with the convention they were attending. After we had picked up most of the plates and were about to withdraw from the room, as they were about to speak, the entire server staff got called out because they wanted to Thank us for the great service that we had provided during the week. They all applauded, loudly. And some people even stood up.

Sure, I had been thanked by small groups for great service before, but knowing that 200 people enjoyed the food and the service so much is absolutely amazing. Usually there is a bunch of cranky old people or just plain bastards that have to find something to complain about.

It really makes the entire job worthwhile. For the opposite reasons, I’ve been wanting to get out of the food service business…I still do, don’t get me wrong, but knowing that someone thinks you’re doing a good job is a great feeling.

——

I’ve made a Tumblrlog or Tumblog or whatever. I think I will keep it running side by side with this blog. I’m hoping that they will compliment one another. We’ll see how it goes. Let me know what you think of it.

http://thesoulborrower.tumblr.com

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Wow cool. Its always a great feeling when you get positive feedback – and a round of applause is pretty damn positive!! Definitely nice to have that warm feeling inside like you did something more than bring them their choice of chicken or fish and refill the water glasses.

    Good job!!

    ps: WTF is a tumblr blog whatever? LOL.

    🙂

    Comment by Seth | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. The tumblr blog looks very nice Jake. Great job. 😀

    Comment by Tee | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. It’s great to be appreciated. Well done!

    I don’t like the new blog layout at all, maybe because it’s so dark, so thanks for keeping this one going too.

    Having said that, the “The brick walk in front of the old Train depot” photo on the other blog looks fantastic now because that blue light on the left can’t be seen (until you expand the image of course). It looks like a totally different photo to me now.

    Take care,
    Col

    Comment by Col | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. Jake

    I thnk the slightly enlarge photos present better on tumblir but i also was happy to see you kept this going.

    The picture of the field at sunrise especially appears to have a little more light on it and thus improving the photo to me

    take care and be safe

    bob

    Comment by cvn70 | February 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

