The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

It’s been awhile.

So I haven’t blogged in a while, as you may or may not have noticed. I received a few emails from bloggers, for which I am extremely greatfull. Sorry I have not yet responded.

I’ve wanted to blog about stuff several times over the past few weeks. Most of them have been short little blog-lettes, but those that I just haven’t had time to sit down and type up. Classes are coming to an end and I’ve procrastinated almost all of them. I thought that I was going to do well in all of them, but right now things aren’t looking so hot.

I’ve started working quite a bit more. I got promoted as well as a raise. Unfortunately we still haven’t found an apartment close enough or nice enough to my workplace. It’s tough. I don’t have a guaranteed amount of monthly income to go by, so I don’t want to go too high, but at the same time, I don’t want to live in a crappy small apartment that I wont be happy with.

I want to buy photoshop. The student edition costs about 200$. I can only buy it in the next 2 weeks, before I am no longer a student- until next year at least. Then it’s something like 800$.

You know what I really hate? When people go into a bookstore, sit in the aisle, read a book, are in my way, and don’t even bother to buy the book. Sorry to all the emo folks up there, but there was this Emo couple at the local Borders the other day and they were sitting in the middle of the aisle reading book after book and not bothering to buy them. And that’s to say that Manga is even a book. Pathetic. I don’t mind if people sit down to read a few pages, but freaking buy it, you fucking freeloader.

Sorry. But that is my true opinion.

I’ve been debating whether or not I should abandon this blog and just do my Tumblr Blog. The pull is strong. I’ll probably decide soon.

Hope you’ve enjoyed atleast some of this post. I like blogging. But time is lacking.

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Hey welcome back! It’s hard to keep track of who is “active” and who has gone silent.

    But it looks like your t-shirt thing is offline – whatever happened with the Milkboys shirts?

    You don’t have to blog every day – but maybe just try and set aside 10 minutes a week, one nite when you find yourself in front of the computer, just to keep things updated. But of course, I’m still following you and I guess many others are also.

    Don’t give up the regular blog!!! Tumblr is cool for photos, but seems sort of limited for anything else.

    That really sucks with Photochop. Prices are ridiculous. For many years I (cracked) installed the full version – but eventually stopped bothering since I didn’t ever use it anyway. Although I guess 200 is better than 800 any day.It is a big investment, but if you are really getting into the photography and stuff, it will cost itself out over a year or three of use.

    Btw, how IS the photo stuff going? How did you do with your class? Any new work?

    Anyway, hope you are doing ok with everything, best wishes for a good end of semester. Stay cool
    Sethy

    Comment by Seth | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. hey Jake. nice to hear from you after such a long time. i really hope things will go well for you, and i echo all of Seth’s comments.

    if $200 is too steep right now, could you make do with photoshop elements? it does get better and better each release, whereas photoshop full arguably just gets more bloated. that said $200 *is* a good price for full ps.

    anyway – best wishes to you – i hope you keep this blog going as i just don’t like tumblr for some reason, but of course it’s up to you

    take care
    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. i like your blog, i hope you don’t stop

    Comment by jay.osa | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Jake,

    I don’t like Tumblr either, but if you decide to end this one; I’ll still follow your Tumblr one 🙂

    Btw, congrats on your promotion and raise!!

    Take care,
    Col

    Comment by Col | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. jake

    nice to see you back and getting promoted must make you happy

    hope to see more posts from you take care and be safe

    bob

    Comment by cvn70 | April 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

