The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Karma

So, I got off work today, walked out and immediately saw something that I wanted to take a picture of. I won’t tell you what it was. So I walked to my car to get my camera only to realize that I did not have it with me.

Flash back to before work, leaving my driveway thinking…’I should run in and get my camera with me…just in case….nah, I won’t need it’….and I drive off. Damn it. There always seem to be things to take pictures of when I don’t have my camera with me, but absolutely nothing when I do.

Schools over. I don’t have my grades yet. I am expecting for 4 A’s and a B, although I would be tickled if I got all 5 A’s. Finals went rather well, I must say. I’m glad its over…for this semester at least. Sadly, I’ll be ready to go back rather quickly. I’m trying to sell my books online, as the bookstore would not buy any of them back.

I’ve purchased photoshop. Did I tell you that already? I’m too lazy to go back and look. I love it. I haven’t even used photoshop very much. I bought it moreso just for the bridge, and man I’ve already got a miniscule portion of my pictures catalogged, tagged, and renamed – all much faster than I could’ve done before.

I’ve inserted a few ‘select’ photos into photoshop and see what I could come up with. I’m not so used to using CS4, I used CS3 and it seems that CS4 is missing things in comparison. It may just be that it is the student version, or that I just am overlooking a few things. Those photos turned out quite well and I absolutely loved the way they look. They looked fabulous before, but putting them into photoshop made them even better.

That’s my problem though. I hate editing photos, because in reality, once you put them into photoshop and make any drastic changes, then it becomes fake. I don’t like lying to myself or other people when they are looking at the photos. If that situation isn’t portrayed on the photo exactly as it was, it may all as well be a sham.

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Photoshop is a great application, though I use open source stuff now – easier on my wallet!

    I agree that some people will use it to enhance their pictures in order to make them something that they are not. However,a poorly composed, drab picture will remein ever thus; PS will not change that.

    I admire your attitude that a picture as it is taken is what one should see, but like all things in life, there are various shades of grey.

    For reportage, the picture should be presented as true as the instant of capture – no changes. But for art and glamour, I think the odd use of the vignette corrector or beautify filters will not be such a bad thing.

    On the subject of carrying your camera – as Nike would say, “Just do it!”

    Have a wonderful day. G =]

    Comment by Doomed But Cheerful! | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. i agree with what G says about reportage and journalism.

    however, if you limit your photography to what the camera recorded, your photographs will be just that – record shots. if you’re prepared to manipulate them to how your inner eye visualised the scene, then *maybe* you might be creating art.

    that’s not to say that all artistic photos have been manipulated – far from it. but to artificially restrict yourself to leaving photos alone is like saying to an artist that they’re only allowed to use a certain type of brush stroke or similar.

    ansel adams – famous photographer of the 1930s – brilliant monochrome worker, esp. in Yosemite. as well as having an ability to take a good picture, his real skill was in the printing of the picture – dodging here, burning there. in other words, he was converting his record picture into art in much the same way as someone uses photoshop these days.

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | May 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

