The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Up Late Again

Once again, it is but a few measley hours until I have to be to work. Unlike some people…(you know who you are :P) who stay up downloading ‘things’ until the wee hours of the morning…the reason I’m up so late is non-existant. I don’t have any reason. It could be insomnia or something. I’ve been having a tough time getting to sleep and I wish I knew what it was.

There were a few things I wanted to blog about, and a few things I wanted to answer. I don’t remember all of them, but here it goes:

  • The apartment search is actually still on. I’ve decided to leave my parents and their irresponsible – ness. I found a place today that I would really like to move into. Problem is, I need a cosigner. My parents credit is like that new commercial where the dog is the 509, only worse. – Thanks torchy for the advice – that’s what I’ve been trying to do. Today the place I looked at was exactly that feeling of I can see myself living here.

  • No Col, I won’t be starting a photo blog soon, except the one on tumblr. Even that is going to be gone here soon. I still love the idea of it, but only if people were able to comment on it. That and trying to update the both of them sucks. I’ve stuck with this one mostly, simply because it’s my original ‘home’.
  • Torchy, I have no idea what happened to the lens, it just doesn’t seem to focus correctly. Fortunately it was just the kit lens. Unfortunately I’ll have to buy something new.
  • The T-Shirts are offline for the moment. I’ve pretty much abandoned anything that costs me money. I’m making a lot more money now, but there are a lot of things that really aren’t necessary. At one time I had X box live, netflix, YMCA membership, all being automatically deducted. It was only about 45$ a month total, but still. That could be my future electric bill for the month or something. When I move, I don’t plan on getting internet or cable right away, if at all. I think it will be a challenge at first, but it should get me out of the house more… or atleast doing things that are a bit more productive. I hope.
  • I don’t like Photoshop CS4. It’s confusing compared to the layout for CS3. I think a few things are missing with the student version that was in the Full version at the college. I won’t know for sure until next semester. But thanks to the Bridge, I’m now puttering through all of my pictures and my ‘pictures’ tagging them as needed. I’m starring my favourite ones and hope that they will eventually become the photo blog I was talking about.
  • I’ve got another raise at work. Yippee. This time was because I changed jobs entirely. I am now the guy that was above me who sucked and still couldn’t even do the job at 2 months of trying. Unfortunately, they thought the job would be too difficult for one person period, so they now have 2 people on it. I’ve got mixed emotions about it. I think I could’ve done it on my own, but I also think that it’s nice that I won’t have to keep working my bloody ass off all the time. Today in fact, my counterpart was sitting around and doing nothing, which is a good thing, as I may be able to do that in the future if my work-aholic ness will allow me to.
  • Thanks to everyone who comments – I really appreciate all of them, even if I may not respond to any of them personally. I’ve tried to start commenting more and more on everyones posts.
  • This may seem contradictory to every money issue I’ve brought up, but there is a ’96red BMW touring motorcyle with 17k miles for sale. They want 5,000 for it. I want to buy it, mainly because I have a new attachment to everything BMW and motorcycles thanks to the family that I hated in Germany. What do you think? Is it a good deal? I’d appreciate anyones feedback as I don’t know much about purchasing motorcyles.
  • This has turned out much longer than I earlier anticipated.
  • How do I back up my blog? I have gotten quite a few posts logged in and now feel that I would be crushed if it all were somehow lost to a blogger purge or other incident.

🙂

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. I think there is a way to download the entire blog and it can then be re-uploaded somehow – maybe try the help center?

    Comment by goleftatthefork | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Jake,

    I know nothing about motor cycles, but even if I did I’d still say… “DON’T DO IT!!”

    You’ve had *another* raise/promotion which is fantastic btw, congratulations!, but until you’re settled in a place for a while and know exactly what your monthly outgoings are; don’t commit your finances to too much.

    I know you’re an impulse buyer, but having your own apartment is a huge responsibility. You can buy a motor cycle later-on, maybe 🙂

    Sorry for the moan!

    Anyway, backing-up your blog… no idea! Seth had alink on his blog a while back, but when I looked at it I had no idea what it all meant, so mine’s still not backed-up either. Lol!
    I’m worse than useless when it comes to pc’s. So, if you do find out, and it’s really easy to do, please let me know. Haha!

    Take care,
    Col

    Comment by Col | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. my pleasure about the advice (r u sure it was me coz i don’t remember!).

    i’ve looked at loads of photoblogs over the years, and there’s one which may fit the bill. i’ll mail you details.

    i’ve not tried cs4. i skip a version, so my next will be cs5 when that comes.

    congrats on the promotion! and forget the mbike until you’re at least settled in your appartment and are managing to budget properly. it *may* be a good deal, but there’ll be others for sure.

    backing up your blog is easy: go to your dashboard, settings tab. at ‘blog tools’, click ‘export blog’. in the popup, click ‘download blog’. depending on your browser, it will either prompt you to save your file somewhere, or it will save it directly in your download area. the xml file that it saves is your backup.

    take care and good luck with it all
    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. SHAME ON YOU ALL FOR NOT BACKING UP YOUR BLOGS. lol. j/k.

    http://www.codeplex.com/bloggerbackup is a program that I use, it allows you to download all posts, with comments, also allows for incremental backups.

    Blogger itself allows you to backup, like Torchy! said. Another thing I have done is, create a second blog, as a “backup” – I think its actually Sethboyardee2 – and you can then UPLOAD the xml file you downloaded when you backed up the blog – and the entire blog will re-appear. Just as an extra, anal-retentive backup.

    ps: bike =/= good for wallet

    🙂

    Comment by Seth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Some tips on the apartment hunting stuff/cosigner crap:

    1) never tell them you’re a student.

    2) Check your income vs. rental cost. Your rent + utilities should be no more than 30-35% of your total income. If it’s closer to 40%, that triggers the “cosigner” response.

    3) your parents are your previous landlords. List them as your landlord references whenever possible.

    4) Start to build your own credit. Good options to start with are places are dept stores like Target or JC Penney who are usually eager to give you credit. Stay away from Visa/MC for now (especially campus offers, especially Capital One), because they are totally ruthless in this economy.

    5) If you can, get roommates who will cosign the lease.

    Comment by aron2631 | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. Jake, this is what I use to backup my blog:
    http://www.codeplex.com/bloggerbackup

    It is free, and works quite well – but it WON@T backup widgets or your blogroll. To back up your blogroll, make a group in your favourites, and then export that group to html/file – its in the ‘file’ menu somewhere, depending on your browser.

    CS4 SE or whatever doesn’t have everything, and I don’t like the layout either. Now i use The Gimp, http://www.gimp.org/, which is an open source editor, that can use many Photoshop filters as well. You can even make the Gimp look like photoshop, with all the menus in the ‘right’ places etc – http://plasticbugs.com/?page_id=294 this is more than an aesthetic gimmick – it will actually reduce your learning curve.
    Though you already have Photoshop, you might want to look at this, and see how it works for you – it will only cost you the time to download it, after all!
    Have a wonderful day.
    G =]

    Comment by Doomed But Cheerful! | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. congrats on the new job!

    Comment by jay.osa | May 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

