The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Used

Does anyone have any used DSLR Cameras they’d be willing to sell me? I find it very heartbreaking that I can’t go out and take any pictures on my days off. Like today. I haven’t done anything, and I want to slap myself for the lack of productivity.

I don’t really have anything else to blog about. Its been an extremely stressful couple days at work. With my latest promotion, I find myself doing a job that I hate. I quit my previous job, which was doing the exact same thing, simply because I didn’t like doing it. Now I’m back to where I started – albeit full time and making some decent money.

June 16, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Sorry, I just have a good oldfashionrd Minolta X700(one of those where you have to put a film in,ya know?). The job sounds like a Catch 22. πŸ˜€ Propz Pilgrim

    Comment by Pilgrim | June 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. OMG @ pilgrim – the X700 was my FIRST EVER real 35mm camera!!

    But that's like… ancient LOL.

    Jake sorry I wish I could help, but for the longest time I have been yearning for a digital myself (other than my crappy point-n-shoot). I've got a few older 35mm bodies that cost me a fortune in the past, which are now barely worth anything, so I'm saving bit by bit. Of course, it doesn't help that the camera I really want costs around $8,000 dollars, and another 3 or 4 thousand worth of new lenses. LOL. BTW – stick with Canon or Nikon, if/when you find something.

    I would maybe suggest Craigslist, if its active in your area. Or Ebay of course. Or else see if you can find a local camera store that deals with used equipment.

    Let me know if you need any advice.

    Comment by Seth | June 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. i'd suggest ebay too – i've bought quite a bit of photographic equipment from there.

    from what i've heard as a non-US resident, craigslist is used for a different type of body πŸ˜›

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. LOL πŸ™‚

    Comment by Seth | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. @Pilgrim – I'd go for film. I still think some of the best photos ever were from an old 35mm that my parents had. I just wouldn't be able to afford the film and getting it developed.

    @Seth – I'd be happy with a mid level camera, or even the same exact one I had. Not sure about craigslist or ebay,though. I'm just not a fan of buying things 'used'.

    Which do you like better? Canon or Nikon? I've never had a Canon, but just seeing other people using theres it doesn't seem as user friendly.

    @Torchy: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› I've looked at the gay ads on Craigslist, and could never imagine actually calling someone. It's like asking for an STD.

    Comment by Jake | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. Yes film is quite expensive. Recently had a roll processed and put on CD and it cost me around 12 bucks.

    Ahh… the age-old Canon vs. Nikon debate.

    I won't even start or get into it. Suffice to say, for all practical purposes, both systems are top-quality and you can't really go wrong with either.

    I would have no problem buying camera bodies and even general-purpose lenses off eBay or CL. You can get good deals on slightly older models that people are selling so they can upgrade. Just check out the seller and do your research.

    Oh, and never buy anything on eBay from a guy named torchy!! LOL

    just kidding πŸ™‚

    If you need more advice, feel free to ask.

    Comment by Seth | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. @seth: oi!

    @jake: i've bought several lenses and 1 (film) camera body off ebay. the camera body was an epic fail coz it was described as faulty and i assumed the seller was thick and that i knew better – wrong! one of the shutter blades was broken.

    just make sure you do your due diligence and ask pertinent questions. if you're an ebay noob, start off small.

    i also sold all of my film equipment on ebay.

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  8. @torchy! *hugs* πŸ™‚

    Comment by Seth | June 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

