The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Milestone

I wish I could say that there was something new, interesting, and exciting to blog about. Sadly there is not. So you’ll just have to put up with some rambling, for now at least šŸ™‚

So I’ve been thinking about what I should do for classes coming up. I’ve already taken about 30 credits at the local community college. I like taking classes for the most part, except for the last few weeks where hell and hiatus reign supreme.

There are only a few classes that I can take at the community college that I can transfer to the University of Nebraska at Omaha, but even those few classes don’t have any times that I can take them at. I work afternoons and evenings, and alas, the only class times available are during those times. It is considerably cheaper to take them at community college than at the University.

The University offers online classes where I could take almost all of the classes online and get my degree without ever moving. But I tried one of those here and it just wasn’t the same. I ended up blowing my way through the course and just guessing at all the material. I didn’t actually learn anything. So I don’t want to do that.

The biggest problem I have is paying for it. My parents haven’t filed their taxes in several years (somehow they still aren’t in jail) and until they do, I won’t be eligible for any financial aid. I have a pretty good job now where I am at and I would absolutely hate losing it.

So in the end, I am faced with the choice of not going to college at all, or losing the job I have now. Quite the predicament.

Edit: It’s a beautiful day in Berlin. Check the web cam out over there~~~~~>

July 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Congrats anyway, Doug! How about a job, that pays and supports your studies? IĀ“ll have a job at the Institutes Curie and Pasteur during my respective doctorates. Propz Pilgrim

    Comment by Pilgrim | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. hmm thats a hard place to be in. i think on the fafsa form there is a spot to say if you rents are not filing. that might help.

    i also ran into the issue of time. i did end up taking classes on line to get started, but just not ones in my major, that why i know what i was doing and could get the gen eds out of the way.

    Comment by jay.osa | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. It's a tough decision, but I must say – GO FOR THE EDUCATION, however you can, scrap scratch force it to happen – very important. This reminds me a bit of what AJ was going through – trying to figure out work schedule around classes, or class schedule around work. But either way, I hope you can make things happen.

    *hugs*

    Comment by Seth | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. yeah, it's a tough decision all right, but i honestly think that opting for the education will give you better future prospects.

    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

