The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Finished

This post will probably sound very dramatic, however I don’t want anyone to worry.

Last night definitely wasn’t the best night of my life. I came home from work and was relaxing as I normally do — in front of the tv with my laptop….just generally wasting time and not doing anything productive. I then went into the kitchen and my mom and dad say that they want me to go to a family reunion type of thing in a few weeks. I told them No. I don’t generally like meeting my immediate family, let alone extended family – most of whom I’ve never even met. I don’t have any connection to them – no matter how much they think that I do. Blood Relatives mean absolutely nothing to me. I am closer with the people that I stayed with for one month in Germany than I am to my own family that I live with here in the states.

Anyway, after I told them No and walked off…my dad comes into my room and says that I am an asshole for saying No. He thinks that I should do this one thing for my mom because she has ‘been there for me’. He said that he isn’t going to let me just sit around the house and do nothing and that he will make me go.

So I walked out. I left my house…and I have no plans on going back. I’ve got some money saved up and I’ll just rent the first apartment that is affordable and fits. I’m done putting up with their shit. Who are they to say that they’ve ‘been there for me’. They haven’t filed their taxes in more than 6 years and they are the reason that I won’t be going to college this fall. They are the ones that screwed me! They never have been there for me when it mattered most. They’ve always been a huge embarassment and I’m sick of it.

I don’t care what it takes. I’ll sleep in my car for awhile if I have to. But I won’t put up with this crap any longer. I’m going to sever the ties.

August 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Be safe and please keep us posted. Sometimes a shock to the system helps to reboot a relationship that has started to fall apart… maybe this can get some good dialog going with your parents and at the same time jumpstart an independent life without them

    Comment by goleftatthefork | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. don’t close the door on your parents. i know you don’t like them right now, and it sounds like you haven’t for a few years, but they’re still the ones who brought you into this world.

    i’m not suggesting you should go to this reunion, nor feel any affinity to your distant relations at all.

    it’s always better to at least attempt to negotiate and for both parties to be prepared to compromise.

    that said, i wish you the best of luck with whatever life throws at you.

    take care
    torchy!

    Comment by torchy! | August 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

