The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Big City

Well, I am officially moving to the big city! Omaha, that is. Some of you would laugh at my definition of a big city, but if 500,000 doesn’t cut it, then I don’t know what will.

It’s been quite a while since I’ve even bothered to post. I’ve started a couple drafts since my last post back in September, put none of them ever materialized into anything actually good. I don’t like to post unless I actually have something interesting to say. And having wordpress doesn’t exactly help with it’s word counter. If it isn’t at least 300, then I must not have said anything interesting at all.

In the past three weeks I have: Had a job interview, had a rather heated ‘disagreement’ at work, given my two week notice at work. Apparently I am a hard ass on my 3 employees that I supervise. My last day is actually Tuesday. Technically I am supposed to start my job in Omaha on Wednesday…but the guy who is supposed to be my manager up there hasn’t called me back yet. I’ll be doing basically the same thing that I am now: banquet service and such.

I am super disappointed that this job didn’t work out. I knew how to do the job and did it well, but I just can’t put up with my same-ranking-coworker-bitch-woman. There is a reason there is such a thing as superiority! She should have been made my subordinate and things would have been fine.

The lounge manager at the hotel that I currently work at called me on Friday to ask why I was quitting – or rather if the rumors were true. I hardly ever talk to her, but we get along great and I didn’t really expect her to call at all. I’ve also had a few other people express their disappointment that I will be leaving, and am truly touched that they care so much as to say something. When i was in my office yesterday thinking it over I started crying when I realized that I would have just 3 days left. Now it is only 2. Really, I can’t wait to get them over with. But I can’t believe this job that I thought would be great, ended up sucking hard….I put so much effort into, and just like that it’s over.

I can’t believe it.

I just got over the flu. I was sick as hell from Wednesday through Friday and couldn’t do much of anything. Even worse, it was over my two scheduled days off. What a terrible way to spend them. I could have actually done something interesting.

I’ve been wanting to go back to Europe since I left in January of 2008, but haven’t had the money to just yet. This year it seems I won’t have it either. I love traveling in the winter because there aren’t any crowds and it is always a much better cultural experience during the holiday seasons. Flights are a hell of a lot cheaper. If anyone is secretly an airline employee and can get me some super special discount I would love you forever.

Right now I am sitting in my car outside some random store that has WiFi and my battery is starting to run out, so I am going to leave you, for now at least. There were at least a few other things I wanted to blog about, but maybe I’ll post two days in a row and really shock y’all!

Gute Nacht, Suesser Prinz

October 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. You know this about life, don’t you? When one thing starts to go wrong, suddenly almost everything you touch or touches you seems to go wrong too!

    If you possibly can – and forgive me if you already know this trick – but between the old job and the new, do try to take a little time for yourself. If it really is a case of starting Wednesday, then maybe you can only get an hour or two.

    But what you need to do is to clear out all the garbage and bad feeling of your old job and treat yourself to a cream puff or something special to mark the end of the bad bit and the beginning of the new.

    Cos the last thing any of us should do is to start a new job while still mightily pissed off a the last one!

    Just try to get a little bit of time just for you before you start the new job and treat yourself in some small way!

    Comment by Micky | October 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

