The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Feeds

What do you use as a Feed Reader? At first I used Internet Explorer 8, but didn’t like it because it wouldn’t take me directly to the site – rather it just viewed it in RSS Feed from thing, which for me just isn’t what blogs are about.

Then I used Firefox, because it did take me directly to the site when the feed was clicked, but it seems there are numerous problems with it.

1. it doesn’t seem to update all of them…it says it’s updating 1 of 168, but stops at 102.
2. When i want to add new feeds, they don’t seem to appear in the list
3. It takes a long time and a lot of memory to update.
4. feeds sometimes shut down all of firefox

I know there are a couple of different ones out there, but my main concern is that it takes me directly to the site when clicked, and I can subscribe all different kinds of feeds out there.

Thanks!

December 4, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve always used the Google Reader GADGET, which “lives” on my iGoogle homepage in FF. I scan down the posts, and it opens the little preview, which I either just read directly from, or open the actual post in a new tab.

    I’m sure its not the best or easiest way to do things at all. It seems to have issues with updating, in that, unless you read EVERYTHING in all categories, it won’t update with new stuff, and it sometimes glitches and burbs up all the old stuff again.

    Likewise for subscribing, I go through Google Reader, which requires a few clicks to actually subscribe. Google Reader istelf seems rather slow to load, and awkward to use, I’m just used to doing new tabs from the reader gadget.

    I guess, in other words, it’s not very efficient LOL but I’m just too lazy to start looking into alternatives.

    Comment by Seth | December 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

