The Soul Borrower

A Blog of Photography and my Lifeography

Christmas

For the last 4 years or so, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with the Holiday Season. In fact, I don’t like many Holidays at all. They are just another day. I can entirely support the sense of unification and getting everybody together for the holidays for some quality time. On the other hand, I absolutely hate my family and can’t listen to my parents jabber for even a few minutes without getting pissed off at them.

I don’t understand the whole gift-giving thing either. Why, when most of the world is in economic turmoil, should we be socially forced to give gifts to other people? Why should I have to have a reason to buy someone a gift? Why do people stomp on the pieces of an already broken bank by buying gifts for people? I can see one or two thoughtful things for your immediate family members, but numerous other bloggers have already expressed mucho stress and financial burden over having to buy people gifts or send some sort of acknowledgement of your existence. And what for? Because its the social norm?

It doesn’t make a lick of sense to me. I would much rather not buy anything for anyone and have no one buy anything for me. Why should two people spend $20 on each other for something they probably won’t even like. I’d rather take my own $20 and spend it on something that I want rather than play it with chance and get something totally useless. The obligation just kills me.

I guess it doesn’t help that I’m an atheist. All the religious crap that goes with the Holidays is another reason for me to tune it all out. Gotta love the hypocrites who claim they “believe” in something, but are only obligated to express it twice a year. Why bother?

One day I hope to have someone to spend the holiday with. Even if I don’t do it for the typical reasons. I still believe it can be a great time to become closer, but that’s not what Americans are in it for.

———
I do however, love, Christmas music. Yes, I may be a hypocrite just for that, but hey, I like my music.

Below are a couple of videos of my most favourite movie of all time: Joyeux Noel or Merry Christmas (In English). I can highly recommend this film. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! Talk about a tear jerker.

December 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Interesting ideas and position you take on the whole holiday season. As you may know, I am quite similar – I despise holidays for their utter pointless pomp and circumstance. Ridiculous celebrations, fuss and stereotypical activities. Of course, I’m also a bit hypocritical about it, I sometimes wind up doing something special on major holidays.

    But I don’t enjoy it!! LOL

    Bah, humbug, and glad tidings and joy đŸ™‚

    Comment by Seth | December 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

